Yoga Sequence for Chakra Realignment

close up shot of chakra on a brown surface

I love a themed yoga sequence. And one of my favorite series to create is a chakra realignment yoga class to close out the year.

While my teaching schedule is much smaller than it as been in the past, I’m still excited to implement this type of structure. I’m also solely teaching vinyasa classes right now, which has never happened before. From a sequencing perspective, this is huge benefit as I’m planning on creating a simple base sequence, and then swapping out postures as we move through the chakras.

Why Chakra Realignment?

Chakras interact with the body through two systems: the nervous system and the endocrine system. “Chakra” is a Sanskrit word that translates as “wheel” or “vortex,” which provides a great visual for how to think of how they work in our body. Chakras are non-physical yet corporeal presence that are like an overlay to the body. Within our Western understanding of how hormones affect our bodies, and their ability to stimulate or inhibit different functions, it stands to reason that the chakras present another way to understand the holistic systems in our body.

Finding balance – in our emotions, chakras, life, and everything – is the point of the practices I’m building. Here are a few examples of the various imbalances that match with the 7 chakras.

Chakra Imbalances:

Root Chakra

The root chakra works with the adrenal cortex glands. It also governs the back, feet, hips, spine and legs. You can think of it as the center of physical energy, grounding and self-preservation.

Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra governs the sex organs. Ovaries, testicles, and bladder, bowel and lower intestine. It correlates with feelings and sexuality. When the sacral chakra is balanced, emotions and feelings can flow and be expressed freely.

Navel or Solar Plexus Chakra

An energy worker once described the solar plexus as the furnace of the body. When it’s lit and running, you’re warm and effusive. When it’s out and cold, you feel powerless. And that’s the balance that the navel chakra craves. It governs the stomach, upper intestines, upper back and spine. Imbalances can show up as digestive issues, hypoglycaemia, and areas of power and control.

Heart Chakra

Just as we traditionally think of the heart, this chakra is the body’s home for compassion, love and spirituality. It’s associated with the circulatory system and the thymus gland, governing the heart, lungs, blood and circulation.

Throat Chakra

If you’re having trouble expressing yourself, there might be some issues with your throat chakra. Governing the throat, thyroid, mouth, teeth, tongue and jaw, it’s associated with the respiratory system and is the center for sound, speech and expression.

Third Eye Chakra

The third eye as a concept has high meaning in yogic tradition, and that’s reflected from the chakra perspective as well. It governs the pituitary gland, skull, eyes, brain, nervous system and senses while acting as the center of psychic power and higher intuition.

Crown Chakra

The center of enlightenment, truth and dynamic thought is found in the crown chakra. Governing the top of the spinal cord, brain stem, pain center and nerves, it’s associated with the central nervous system and pineal gland.

Building a Chakra Yoga Sequence

So how do we create a yoga sequence that can address ALL THE THINGS? Here is my preliminary plan. Reminder that not every class will include all these postures – I’ll pick and choose based on the particular chakra we’re focusing on that day.


Balasana (Root + 3rd eye)

Sukhasana (Root, 3rd eye, crown)

+ mudra, chant. Garu + gomhu arms

Cat cow with lions breath (Throat)

Low lunge, hook thumbs over head (Heart)

Down dog

Scorpion option (3rd eye)

Down dog

Forward fold (Root)

Sun A

(all the chakras)

Sun B

Chair (Solar plexus)


High lunge, hook thumbs (Heart)

Open arm twist (3rd eye)

1 legged tadasana, goal post arms drop head back

Options for tree or toe stand (Crown)

W2 (Heart)

Wide legged forward fold (Root, 3rd eye)

Star pose (Heart)

W1 to the back with cow arms (Crown)

Humble warrior (3rd eye, heart)


Low lunge (Root)

Half split (Solar plexus)

Low lunge

Wide legged forward fold

Twist arm up(3rd eye)


W2 to the front

DD to childs pose to crocodile (Crown)

Spine Series

Locust (3rd eye)

Bow (Sacral)

Sphinx (Heart)

Cobra (Heart)


Camel (3rd eye, crown)

Boat (Solar plexus)


Bridge, activated bridge (Root, sacral)

Windshield wiper (Sacral)

Supta baddha konasana


Where I’m getting a little stuck is putting together a unique closing for each session. How do you like to close your yoga classes? How can I make it chakra-specific? Drop a comment or send me a message!

Published by megtalla

Core Capabilities: Developing action-oriented content. Extensive content management experience. Skilled practitioner of web standards and social media evangelist. Interpreting / responding strategically to web analytics. Thriving in fast-paced organizations. Other than that, I'm just a girl with a penchant for cafe con panna and books.

One thought on “Yoga Sequence for Chakra Realignment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: